Sound Noir
Jacob Kirkegaard / Konrad Smolenski

Saturday 26 September 2015
7 — 10 PM

27 September — 22 November 2015



The NAK Neuer Aachener Kunstverein is pleased to present the exhibition Sound Noir by the artists Jacob Kirkegaard and Konrad Smoleński.

The exhibition Sound Noir is part of the cooperative, international project INTERsound initiated by the institutions ikob – Museum of Contemporary Art, Les Brasseurs – Art Contemporain and the NAK Neuer Aachener Kunstverein in order to bring together diverse, contemporary uses of sound as a medium within artistic contexts. The exhibition Sound Noir furthers the intensified entanglement of visual and auditory phenomenon that has emerged during the project with two installations, each of which offers acoustic interpretations of the culturally and politically loaded colour black.

Konrad Smoleński, One Mind in a Million Heads, 2015

The installation One Mind in a Million Heads by the Polish artist Konrad Smoleński consists of 41 diversely arranged speaker boxes which convert the exhibition space into a seemingly chaotic obstacle course, prompting visitors to actively wander through the scenery. The experience is intensified exponentially by a specific Sound-Setting which, according to varying volumes, speaker directions and acoustic overlaps, generates specific acoustic spaces within the arrangement of objects and makes a distanced and rationally classifiable reception impossible. As is typical of  Konrad Smoleńskis artistic approach, not only do the sculptural and acoustic elements in One Mind in a Million Heads coalesce into an all-encompassing spatial structure, but the installation also simultaneously instigates a space of aesthetic experience permeated by moments of disorientation, anxiety and inundation. The towering, ruin-like speakers conjure an atmosphere whose gloominess and inadequacy recall the dystopian cityscapes of Film Noir while the work’s acoustic impact advocates for an even more fundamental level of associations. Through musical and tonal phenomena, the physically and mentally engrossing character of the sonic scenery, in which an uninhibited energy can be experienced, unfolds a deeply psychodynamic potential. It is this unbridled energy, moving from the early days of Rock ‘n Roll through to the Punk, Metal and Noise movements, which approaches the black anarchistic impulse in a non-trivial way.


Jacob Kirkegaard, Untitled (Black Metal Square), 2015

By contrast, Jacob Kirkegaard‘s installation Untitled (Black Metal Square) addresses the colour black in an art historical context by reflexively approaching the subject of the Black Square. 100 years after Kasimir Malevich’s famous painting Black Square (1915) was first presented to the public, Jacob Kirkegaard develops the tradition laden motif with respect to its acoustic dimensions. His work Untitled (Black Metal Square) consists of a freely hanging black metal plate whose natural oscillations have been electronically amplified and fed back into the plate in order to generate an audible self-resonance. In his approach, Jacob Kirkegaard follows a deeper logic of the black square, one formulated by Malevich himself: ‘It is from nothing, in nothing, from which the true movement of being begins.’ One finds further clues to this mysterious void in a 1617 drawing by the English philosopher Robert Fludd in which he furnishes the edges of a black square with the words ‘et sic in infinitum’, thus marking a sensory relationship between nothingness and infinity. Paradoxically, this experience of total absence seems to lead us to the omnipresence of a potential universe, one yet to come. Though the artistic currents of the last century have urgently and thoroughly explored the mystical potential of the black square as a visual phenomenon, Jacob Kirkegaard’s Untitled (Black Metal Square) still succeeds at posing a new question: what would it be, what would we hear when our bodies were surrounded in this metaphysical black?



Jacob Kirkegaard (b.1975, Denmark) lives and works as an artist, composer and music producer in Berlin. His installations and performances have been presented in exhibitions at the MOCA in Roskilde (2015), the Mori Art Museum in Tokyo (2014), the MoMA in New York (2013) and the KW Institute for Contemporary Art in Berlin (2010) among others.


Originally from the Pink-Punk scene, Konrad Smoleński (b.1977, Poland) lives and works as an independent artist in Warsaw and Zürich. Alongside presentations of his works and performances at theVolkspalais in Den Haag (2014), the Kunsthalle Winterthur (2014) and the ICA in London (2013), Konrad Smoleński has also produced a solo presentation at the Polish Pavilion at the 55th Venice Biennale (2013).


With kindly supported by:

Sound Noir
Jacob Kirkegaard / Konrad Smolenski

ERÖFFNUNG:
Samstag 26 September 2015
19 — 22 Uhr

GEÖFFNET:
27 September — 22 November 2015

SOUND NOIR

JACOB KRIKEGAARD // KONRAD SMOLEŃSKI

Der NAK Neuer Aachener Kunstverein freut sich, die Ausstellung Sound Noir der beiden Künstler Jacob Kirkegaard und Konrad Smoleński präsentieren zu können.

Die Ausstellung Sound Noir ist Teil des internationalen Kooperationsprojekts INTERsound, das zwischen den Institutionen ikob – Museum für Gegenwartskunst, Les Brasseurs – Art Contemporain und NAK Neuer Aachener Kunstverein initiiert wurde, um sich auf unterschiedlichen Ebenen dem aktuellen Gebrauch des Mediums Sound innerhalb künstlerischer Zusammenhänge anzunähern. Der sich in dieser Entwicklung verstärkt abzeichnenden Verschränkung von visuellen und auditiven Phänomenen folgt die Ausstellung Sound Noir zugleich anhand zweier neuer Installationen, die jeweils akustische Interpretationen der kulturell wie auch politisch hochkonnotierten Farbe Schwarz entwerfen.


Konrad Smoleński, One Mind in a Million Heads, 2015

So besteht die Installation One Mind in a Million Heads des polnischen Künstlers Konrad Smoleński aus 41 unterschiedlich arrangierten Lautsprecherboxen, die den Ausstellungsraum in einen chaotisch anmutenden Parcours überführen, der den Betrachter zum aktiven Durchstreifen der Szenerie auffordert. Potenziert wird die Erfahrungssituation zugleich durch ein spezifisches Sound-Setting, das – je nach variierender Lautstärke, Ausrichtung der Boxen und Schallüberlagerungen – innerhalb der Objektanordnung akustische Räume generiert, die sich einer distanzierten und rational zuordbaren Rezeption verweigern. In der für Konrad Smoleńskis künstlerisches Vorgehen typischen Weise verknüpfen sich in One Mind in a Million Heads somit nicht nur skulpturale mit klanglichen Elementen zu einem übergreifenden Raumgefüge, sondern im selben Augenblick initiiert die Installation einen ästhetischen Erfahrungskontext, der von Momenten der Desorientierung, Beklemmung und Überwältigung durchdrungen ist. Rufen hierbei bereits die ruinenhaft aufragenden Lautsprecherboxen eine Grundstimmung hervor, die in ihrer Düsterkeit und Unzulänglichkeit etwa an die dystopischen Stadtlandschaften des Film Noirs erinnert, so steht die akustische Wirkkraft der Arbeit für eine noch grundlegendere Assoziationsebene ein. Denn es ist der physisch wie auch mental vereinnahmende Charakter der Soundszenerie, in dem jene ungehemmte Energie erfahrbar wird, durch die musikalische und klangliche Phänomene ein zutiefst psychodynamisches Potenzial entfalten. Und es ist zugleich diese unbändige Energie, die von den frühen Tagen des Rock`n Roll bis hin zu den Strömungen von Punk, Metal und Noise Musik in ihrer Natur dem ungezügelten Schwarz anarchistischer Impulse in nicht unwesentlicher Weise nahesteht.


Jacob Kirkegaard, Untitled (Black Metal Square), 2015

Demgegenüber verhandelt Jacob Kirkegaards Installation Untitled (Black Metal Square) die Farbe Schwarz in seinen kunsthistorischen Bezügen, indem sie sich auf reflexive Weise dem Sujet des Schwarzen Quadrats annähert. 100 Jahre nachdem Kasimir Malewitschs berühmtes Gemälde Schwarzes Quadrat auf weißem Grund (1915) erstmals der Öffentlichkeit präsentiert wurde, erschließt Jacob Kirkegaard das traditionsreiche Motiv hierbei hinsichtlich seiner akustischen Dimensionen. So besteht seine Arbeit Untitled (Black Metal Square) aus einer frei im Raum hängenden, schwarzen Metallplatte, deren natürliche Schwingungen elektrisch verstärkt und in die Platte rückgekoppelt werden, um auf diese Weise hörbare Eigenresonanzen des Quadrats zu erzeugen. Mit dieser Vorgehensweise folgt Jacob Kirkegaards Installation zugleich einer tieferliegenden Logik des Schwarzen Quadrats, die Kasimir Malewitsch wie folgt ausformulierte: „Es ist aus dem Nichts, in dem Nichts, aus dem die wahre Bewegung des Seins beginnt”. Für diese rätselhafte Leere lassen sich fortführende Hinweise ebenfalls in der 1617 angefertigten Zeichnung des englischen Philosophen Robert Fludd verfolgen, in der die Kanten des Schwarzen Quadrats mit den Worten „et sic in infinitum” versehen sind und somit einen sinnsprüchlichen Zusammenhang zwischen dem Nichts und der Unendlichkeit markieren. Auf paradoxe Weise scheint sich die Erfahrung der totalen Abwesenheit dabei zugleich in die Allgegenwart eines potenziellen, noch ausstehenden Universums zu verkehren. Doch loteten die künstlerischen Strömungen der letzten Jahrhunderte dieses mystische Potenzial des Schwarzen Quadrats vordringlich in seinen Eigenschaften als visuelles Phänomen aus, so vermag Jacob Kirkegaards Untitled (Black Metal Square) nun eine neue Frage aufzuwerfen: Denn was wäre es, das wir hören könnten, würden wir uns leibhaftig in ein solch metaphysisches Schwarz begeben?

 

 

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von: