SIR: character studies, promotional materials, self actualization and contemporary photography 2013-2018
Fischerspooner

OPENING:
Saturday 7 April 2018
7 — 12 PM

OPEN:
8 April — 27 May 2018

 

Opening: 7th April 2018, 7 PM
Greeting: Dr. Werner Dohmen, Chairman NAK
Introduction: Maurice Funken, Director NAK

When Warren Fischer and Casey Spooner founded their art, music, and performance project Fischerspooner in 1998 in New York, they had a mission – to make the dull and elitist art scene more open and accessible and to go beyond the boundaries of art and entertainment.

With their exhibition SIR: character studies, promotional materials, self actualization and contemporary photography 2013 – 2018 Fischerspooner present their own queer-lustrous and passionate universe at NAK Neuer Aachener Kunstverein. A site-specific installation filled with the wide variety of images that has comprised Casey’s search for a new identity and character. This journey has taken the form of artist collaborations, a strategy that the duo had already been pursuing for the production of the artist book Egos in 2015. Works by well know photographers are combined with images by internet photographers and even friends of the artists. In the process Casey Spooner as the depicted main protagonist takes a step back; a portrait of contemporary photography is being generated. Thereby a survey of different and betimes even contrary handling of photography as a medium in the 21st century comes into effect. The emerging material of various different photographic approaches is part of current discourse of digital culture, informed by a constant image production and reproduction. The exhibition spaces will be unified in a dense collage on all surfaces which reflects the omnipresence of multimedia image culture. In the person and by the photographic omnipresence of Casey Spooner, the idea of excitement and obsession in a society construed to the commercialization and idolization of popculture is being specifically brought into question.

The installation at NAK is an artistic extension of Fischerspooner’s fourth album project, also titled SIR. Recently released, the album was produced by Michael Stipe (R.E.M.) and addresses the dissolution of the boundaries between an internal and an external social self as well as the constant need for talkativeness about ones own life – a phenomenon specific in nowadays, more and more transforming the private into performative and public space.

With their show SIR: character studies, promotional materials, self actualization and contemporary photography 2013 – 2018 Warren Fischer and Casey Spooner revisit themes of the exhibition SIR that took place at Vienna’s mumok in the summer of 2017 and bring the current era of Fischerspooner to its finale.

Participating artists:

Luke Abby / Jeremy Ayers / Ken Barnett / David Belisle / Javier Tomas Biosca / Thomas Dozol / Greg Endries / Exterface / Santiago Felipe / Rui Miguel Leitão Ferreira / Ricardo Gomez / Constantin Hartenstein / Gil Inoue / Yuki James / Andreas Lazlo Konrath / Jorge Lopez / Frédéric Monceau / Lexie Moreland / Marcus L. Morris / Yann Morrison / Nils Müller / Matthew Attard Navarro / Robert Nethery / Hans Neumann / Josh Paul / Ryan Pfluger / Hadar Pitchon / Denis Pushkin / Jason Rodgers / Rinaldo Sata / Stephanie Shepard / Jesus Ugalde Solis /  Dusty Stamand / Michael Stipe / Wolfgang Tillmans / Ruben Tomas / Vincent Urbani / Kristiina Wilson

Kindly supported by

 

Please visit Hannchen Mehrzweck Stiftung here: www.hms-stiftung.de 

Inspired by

SIR: character studies, promotional materials, self actualization and contemporary photography 2013-2018
Fischerspooner

ERÖFFNUNG:
Samstag 7 April 2018
19 — 00 Uhr

GEÖFFNET:
8 April — 27 Mai 2018




 

Eröffnung: 07. April 2018, 19 Uhr
Begrüßung: Dr. Werner Dohmen, Vorstand NAK
Einführung: Maurice Funken, Direktor NAK

Mit ihrem 1998 in New York gegründeten Kunst, Musik und Performance Projekt Fischerspooner loten die Künstler Warren Fischer und Casey Spooner die Grenzen zwischen Kunst und Unterhaltung aus.

Mit SIR: character studies, promotional materials, self actualization and contemporary photography 2013-2018 präsentieren Fischerspooner nun ihre queere Weltsicht im NAK Neuer Aachener Kunstverein. In einer ortsspezifischen Rauminstallation präsentiert das Duo ein weites Panorama an Bildern, die Casey Spooners Suche nach einer neuen visuellen Identität und einem neuen Charakter illustrieren. Die fotografischen Arbeiten sind dabei in Kollaboration mit verschiedenen Künstlern entstanden, eine Idee die das Duo bereits bei der Produktion des Künstlerbuches Egos aus dem Jahr 2015 verfolgte. Werke von bekannten Fotografen treffen auf Aufnahmen von Kreativschaffenden und Freunden aus dem Umfeld der beiden Künstler. Dabei tritt mit Casey Spooner der eigentliche Protagonist der Bilder in den Hintergrund; über die unterschiedlichen Fotografien wird damit ein Porträt zeitgenössischer Fotokunst generiert. Damit tritt eine Untersuchung des unterschiedlichen und beizeiten gegensätzlichen Umgangs mit dem Medium Fotografie im 21. Jahrhundert in Kraft. Das so entstehende Konvolut fotografischer Ansätze steht im Diskurs gegenwärtiger digitaler Kultur, die von einer ständigen Bildproduktion und -reproduktion geprägt wird. Die Wände des Ausstellungsraums werden mit einer überladenen, dichten Fotocollage versehen, die alle Oberflächen in Beschlag nimmt und damit die Omnipräsenz multimedial verdichteter Bildkultur nachahmt. In der Person und der fotografischen Allgegenwart Spooners hinterfragt die Ausstellung darüber hinaus gezielt die Idee von Begeisterung und Besessenheit in einer popkulturell auf Vermarktung und Idolisierung ausgelegten Gesellschaft.

Die Installation im NAK ist eine künstlerische Fortführung des vierten Albumprojektes von Fischerspooner. Das ebenfalls unter dem Titel SIR unlängst veröffentlichte Werk wurde von Michael Stipe (R.E.M.) produziert und thematisiert das Verschwimmen der Grenzen zwischen dem inneren und dem äußeren sozialen Selbst sowie das konstante Mitteilungsbedürfnis des eigenen Lebens – ein Phänomen unserer Zeit, das den persönlichen Raum immer mehr zu einem performativen und öffentlichen werden lässt.

Mit SIR: character studies, promotional materials, self-actualization and contemporary photography 2013 – 2018 knüpfen Warren Fischer und Casey Spooner an die letztjährige Ausstellung Sir im mumok an und bringen die derzeitige Fischerspooner Ära zu ihrem furiosen Finale.

Teilnehmende Künstler:

Luke Abby / Jeremy Ayers / Ken Barnett / David Belisle / Javier Tomas Biosca / Thomas Dozol / Greg Endries / Exterface / Santiago Felipe / Rui Miguel Leitão Ferreira / Ricardo Gomez / Constantin Hartenstein / Gil Inoue / Yuki James / Andreas Lazlo Konrath / Jorge Lopez / Frédéric Monceau / Lexie Moreland / Marcus L. Morris / Yann Morrison / Nils Müller / Matthew Attard Navarro / Robert Nethery / Hans Neumann / Josh Paul / Ryan Pfluger / Hadar Pitchon / Denis Pushkin / Jason Rodgers / Rinaldo Sata / Stephanie Shepard / Jesus Ugalde Solis / Dusty Stamand / Michael Stipe / Wolfgang Tillmans / Ruben Tomas / Vincent Urbani / Kristiina Wilson

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch

 

Besuchen Sie die Hannchen Mehrzweck Stiftung unter: www.hms-stiftung.de 

Inspiriert durch