Pastel Succubus
Sarah Szczesny

OPENING:
Thursday 29 August 2019
7 — 11 PM

OPEN:
30 August — 20 October 2019

 

Opening: Thursday, the 29th August 2019, 7 PM
Greetings: Dr. Werner Dohmen, Chairman NAK
Introduction: Maurice Funken, Director NAK

I don’t need to be / Dominated, degraded or flagellated / I don’t need to be / Extorted, exhaulted or supported, / Complicated, contemplated, / Tolerated or liberated / But I do need to be / Penetrated, elevated and appreciated.” – Annette Peacock, The Succubus

NAK Neuer Aachener Kunstverein is pleased to present the first institutional solo exhibition of Sarah Szczesny in Germany titled Pastel Succubus. For the exhibition at the Kunstverein, Szczesny will realize interdisciplinary painting and video works and stage them as installations.

With the title of the exhibition Sarah Szczesny refers to her radio series Pastel Succubus, which she has continued regularly since 2015 and whose title itself alludes to the song The Succubus by Annette Peacock. The exhibition is marked by the impressions of the artist’s longer stay in Japan. In autumn 2017 Szczesny lived and worked in Kyoto for three months and used the time for numerous research trips through the country. The impressions collected in this way are reflected in the image quotations and references in the works currently being produced for the exhibition at the NAK Neuer Aachener Kunstverein; for example, Szczesny deals with the fandom regarding the Takarazuka Revue Theater and collected records of Japanese pop music of the 1970s and 1980s from musicians such as Akiko Yano, Miharu Koshi and Taeko Onuki.

Sarah Szczesny’s works explore the existential conditions of painting. By stretching the medium’s boundaries through experimental interventions – for example through the use of gif and loop techniques as well as sound effects – she creates a multidimensionality that lends painting a moving character and thus places it in the tradition of cartoons. In this process of animating collages, which is essential for Pastel Succubus, Szczesny combines formal studies and pop culture-historical/art historical quotations.

Sarah Szczesny (*1979 in Starnberg) studied at the Kunstakademie Düsseldorf in the class of Rosemarie Trockel. Her artistic work is characterized by an exploration of the material rhetoric of painting, which she understands as an expandable field of production and which she knows how to stage in a constant process of construction and deconstruction and in a sequence of transitions and appropriations. In the past, Szczesny has had solo exhibitions at Galerie Cinzia Friedlaender (Berlin) and at the MINI/Goethe-Institut Curatorial Residencies, Ludlow 38 (New York).

Kindly supported by

Pastel Succubus
Sarah Szczesny

ERÖFFNUNG:
Donnerstag 29 August 2019
19 — 23 Uhr

GEÖFFNET:
30 August — 20 Oktober 2019

 

Eröffnung: Donnerstag 29.08.2019, 19:00 Uhr
Begrüßung: Dr. Werner Dohmen, Vorstandsvorsitzender NAK
Einführung: Maurice Funken, Direktor NAK

I don’t need to be / Dominated, degraded or flagellated / I don’t need to be / Extorted, exhaulted or supported, / Complicated, contemplated, / Tolerated or liberated / But I do need to be / Penetrated, elevated and appreciated.” – Annette Peacock, The Succubus

Der NAK Neuer Aachener Kunstverein freut sich, die erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung Pastel Succubus der Künstlerin Sarah Szczesny in Deutschland präsentieren zu dürfen. Für die Ausstellung im Kunstverein wird Szczesny interdisziplinär Malerei und Videoarbeiten realisieren und installativ in Szene setzen.

Mit dem Titel der Ausstellung bezieht Sarah Szczesny sich auf ihre Radiosendungsserie Pastel Succubus, die sie seit 2015 regelmäßig fortsetzt und die wiederum im Titel auf den Song The Succubus von Annette Peacock anspielt. Die Ausstellung ist geprägt von den Eindrücken eines längeren Japanaufenthaltes der Künstlerin. Im Herbst 2017 lebte und arbeitete Szczesny drei Monate lang in Kyoto und nutzte die Zeit für zahlreiche Recherchereisen durch das Land. Die so gesammelten Eindrücke finden sich in Form von Bildzitaten und Referenzen in den aktuell für die Ausstellung im NAK Neuer Aachener Kunstverein produzierten Arbeiten wieder; so setzt sie sich beispielsweise mit dem Fantum um das Takarazuka Revue Theater auseinander und sammelte Platten der japanischen Popmusik der 1970er und 1980er Jahre von Musikerinnen wie Akiko Yano, Miharu Koshi und Taeko Onuki.

Mit ihren Arbeiten untersucht Sarah Szczesny die Existenzbedingungen der Malerei. Indem sie durch experimentelle Eingriffe die Mediumsgrenzen dehnt – beispielsweise über den Einsatz von Gif- und Loop-Techniken sowie von Soundeffekten -, entsteht eine Multidimensionalität, die der Malerei Bewegungscharakter verleiht und sie so in der Tradition von Cartoons verortet. In diesem für Pastel Succubus so essentiellen Prozess der Animation von Collagen vereint Szczesny formale Studien und popkultur-geschichtliche/kunstgeschichtliche Zitate.

Sarah Szczesny (*1979 in Starnberg) hat an der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf in der Klasse von Rosemarie Trockel studiert. Ihre künstlerische Arbeit ist gekennzeichnet von der Erforschung der materiellen Rhetorik von Malerei, die sie als erweiterbares Produktionsfeld versteht und die sie in einem steten Ablauf der Konstruktion und Dekonstruktion und in einer Abfolge von Übergängen und Aneignungen zu inszenieren weiß. In der Vergangenheit hatte Szczesny bereits Einzelausstellungen in der Galerie Cinzia Friedlaender (Berlin) und im MINI/Goethe-Institut Curatorial Residencies, Ludlow 38 (New York).

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch: