quixotic essence of a breath of movement / 1x3
Daniela Georgieva

OPENING:
Saturday 27 February 2021
5 — 10 PM

OPEN:
28 February — 28 March 2021

Opening: 27th of February 2021, 5 – 10 PM
Duration: 28th of February – 28th of March 2021

Concept and choreography: Daniela Georgieva
Choreography and performance: Hugo Le Brigand, Alexandra Knieps, David Kummer, Clara Marie Müller, Sophia Seiss
Sound: Klinkhammer
Costumes: Judith Schroiff
Curator: Vanessa Joan Müller
Artistic direction: Maurice Funken

NAK Neuer Aachener Kunstverein is pleased to present quixotic essence of a breath of movement / 1×3, the first institutional solo exhibition of the artist Daniela Georgieva.

Performative formats in institutional spaces of art shift the focus to what can be experienced “live” on site, the concentration on the presence of moving bodies in space and the indispensable transience of the event. But what does it mean for a choreography to adopt the format of an exhibition? This question is the starting point for Daniela Georgieva’s project quixotic essence of a breath of movement / 1×3, which deals intensively with the radically different temporal, spatial and perceptual conditions of an institutional space. Geogieva develops a performative structure for the rooms of NAK, which also rethinks it as an exhibition open to the public during regular opening hours. The time condensed in the performance becomes a new form of duration, the space a space of encounter.

For some time now, Daniela Georgieva has been intensively engaged with the Judson Dance Theater, an association of dancers, choreographers, visual artists, composers, and filmmakers founded in New York in the 1960s that redefined what can be considered dance. The performances of the Judson Dance Theater encompassed everyday movements and gestures, taking up the structures of games, simple tasks and social interactions. Spontaneity and unconventional compositional methods were emphasized. With its cross-genre approach, which sees itself as a physical approach and physical experience of art, dance and minimal music, Judson Dance Theater shaped the “fluid” approach that is essential for our current understanding of performance art. Daniela Georgieva is interested in movement derived from everyday life and based on improvisation as a striving for freedom and diversity in a dance that makes “common” movement patterns conscious. She further develops the minimal narrative language associated with Judson Dance in her own dance-choreographic work and places an increased focus on the relativity of body and space. The approach of the body to its surroundings is matched by other elements such as objects, light, sound and voice. Collage, fragmentation, loosely structured scores, chance and spontaneity also characterize quixotic essence of a breath of movement / 1×3. “1″ stands for the body, “x” is space, and “3″ is object, music and language. But “x” also means the place where all elements meet.

Six dancers interpret movement patterns of walking, jumping and meeting. Their performance, which is always slightly different, can be seen at intervals during the opening hours of NAK. Drawings of the scores and video recordings of the creation process, but also of the “final” piece, are understood in parallel as an invitation to the audience to performatively explore their own movement. The question of the medial transcription of the dance-performative is also raised: What happens beyond the currently visible “performance”, what resonances does the performative generate in space, and how can it be documented?

quixotic essence of a breath of movement / 1×3 unfolds a field of tension between choreographed and everyday movement, between subject and object, spectators and participants, which productively undermines expectations and attributions in order to activate the sensitivity and self-reflection of the spectators.

To find information on the current progress of  the upcoming exhibtion visit the project blog Judson Dance Rework.

Kindly supported by:

In cooperation with:

Ludwig Forum für Internationale Kunst, Aachen and Depot Talstraße, Aachen

quixotic essence of a breath of movement / 1x3
Daniela Georgieva

ERÖFFNUNG:
Samstag 27 Februar 2021
17 — 22 Uhr

GEÖFFNET:
28 Februar — 28 März 2021

Eröffnung: 27. Februar 2021, 17 – 22 Uhr
Laufzeit: 28. Februar – 28. März 2021

Konzept und Choreografie: Daniela Georgieva
Choreografie und Performance: Hugo Le Brigand, Alexandra Knieps, David Kummer, Clara Marie Müller, Sophia Seiss
Sound: Klinkhammer
Kostüme: Judith Schroiff
Kuratorin: Vanessa Joan Müller
Künstlerische Leitung: Maurice Funken

Der NAK Neuer Aachener Kunstverein freut sich mit quixotic essence of a breath of movement / 1×3 die erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung der Künstlerin Daniela Georgieva präsentieren zu dürfen.

Performative Format in institutionellen Räumen der Kunst verschieben den Fokus auf das “live” vor Ort zu Erlebende, die Konzentration auf die Präsenz sich bewegender Körper im Raum und das unabdingbar Vergängliche des Ereignisses. Was aber bedeutet es für eine Choreografie, das Format einer Ausstellung anzunehmen? Diese Frage ist der Ausgangs- punkt für Daniela Georgievas Projekt quixotic essence of a breath of movement / 1×3, das intensiv auf die radikal unterschiedlichen zeitlichen, räumlichen und Wahrnehmungsbedingungen eines institutionellen Raumes eingeht. Geogieva entwickelt eine performative Struktur für die Räume des NAK, die diese auch als Ausstellung, die der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich ist und während der regulären Öffnungszeiten stattfindet, überdenkt. Die in der Performance verdichtete Zeit wird zu einer neuen Form von Dauer, der Raum ein Raum der Begegnung.

Schon seit einiger Zeit setzt sich Daniela Georgieva intensiv mit dem Judson Dance Theater auseinander, einem in den 1960er Jahren in New York gegründeten Zusammenschluss von Tänzer_innen, Choreograf_innen, bildenden Künstler_innen, Komponist_innen und Filmemacher_innen, der neu definierte, was alles als Tanz gelten kann. Die Performances des Judson Dance Theater umfassten alltägliche Bewegungen und Gesten, griffen die Strukturen von Spielen, einfachen Aufgaben und sozialen Interaktionen auf. Spontanität und unkonventionelle Kompositionsmethoden wurden betont. Mit seinem gattungsübergreifenden Ansatz, der sich als körperliche Annäherung und physische Erfahrung von Kunst, Tanz und Minimal Music versteht, prägte das Judson Dance Theater jenen „fluiden” Ansatz, der für unser gegenwärtiges Verständnis von Performancekunst wesentlich ist. Daniela Georgieva interessiert die aus dem Alltag abgeleitete, auf Improvisation basierte Bewegung als Streben nach Freiheit und Vielfalt in einem Tanz, der „gängige” Bewegungsmustern bewusst macht. Sie entwickelt die minimale Erzählsprache, die mit dem Judson Dance assoziiert wird, in ihrer eigenen tänzerisch-choreografischen Arbeit weitere und setzt den Fokus verstärkt auf die Relationalität von Körper und Raum. Dem Herantasten des Körpers an seine Umgebung korrespondieren andere Elemente wie Objekte, Licht, Klang und Stimme. Auch Collage, Fragmentierung, locker strukturierte Partituren, Zufall und Spontaneität charakterisieren quixotic essence of an breath of movement / 1×3. “1″ steht dabei für den Körper, “x” ist der Raum, und “3″ sind Objekt, Musik und Sprache. “x” meint aber auch den Ort des Zusammentreffens aller Elemente.

Drei Tänzerinnen und drei Tänzer interpretieren Bewegungsmuster des Gehens, Springens und der Begegnung. Ihre immer wieder leicht anders gestaltete Performance ist während der Öffnungszeiten des NAK in Intervallen zu sehen. Zeichnungen der Partituren und Videoaufnahmen des Entstehungsprozesses, aber auch des “finalen” Stückes verstehen sich parallel als Einladung an das Publikum, selbst die eigene Bewegung performativ zu erkunden. Die Frage nach der medialen Transkription des Tänzerisch-Performativen steht ebenso im Raum: Was passiert jenseits der jeweils aktuell sichtbaren “Vorführung”, welche Resonanzen erzeugt das Performative im Raum und wie lässt sich es sich dokumentieren?

quixotic essence of a breath of movement / 1×3 entfaltet ein Spannungsfeld zwischen choreografierter und alltäglicher Bewegung, zwischen Subjekt und Objekt, Zuschauer_innen und Teilnehmer_innen, das auf produktive Weise Erwartungen und Zuschreibungen unterläuft, um letztlich vor allem die Sensibilität und Selbstreflexion der Betrachter_innen zu aktivieren.

Über den aktuellen Stand der Vorbereitungen der Ausstellung berichtet der Projektblog Judson Dance Rework.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch:

In Kooperation mit:

Ludwig Forum für Internationale Kunst, Aachen und Depot Talstraße, Aachen